Quick answer: A label that says "1,200 mg flavanols + flavonoids" is adding two different things into one number. Only the cocoa flavanol part matches what cocoa research measures. Unless the label clearly and consistently shows how much of that total is cocoa flavanols, and a lab certificate backs it up, you can't know your real dose from the headline.
Why some cocoa powders lead with a combined number
Bigger numbers sell. "1,200 mg" looks twice as strong as "600 mg," even if the cocoa flavanol content is the same or lower. Combined figures usually add together:
- Cocoa flavanols: epicatechin, catechin and procyanidins, the compounds studied in cocoa research.
- Other flavonoids: a broad family of plant compounds, sometimes added from non-cocoa sources.
Both can be legitimate ingredients. The problem is only when the total is presented as if it were all cocoa flavanols. Background: Cocoa Flavanols vs. Flavonoids.
Red flags on a combined label
- The big number is in the product name, but the flavanol-only amount is hard to find or missing.
- The numbers don't add up. For example, a product that claims the same number of milligrams for epicatechin alone as for total flavanols. Epicatechin is only one of several cocoa flavanols, so that should make you ask questions.
- "10X" or "24X stronger" claims with no explanation of what they're compared to.
- No certificate of analysis available on request.
- Processing not stated. Alkalized (Dutch) cocoa can lose 60–90% of its flavanols. See Does Cocoa Powder Have Flavanols?
4 checks to find your real cocoa flavanol dose
- Find the cocoa flavanol line on the Supplement Facts panel, not the front of the jar.
- Make sure the numbers are consistent between the product name, the facts panel and the description.
- Ask for a COA that shows measured cocoa flavanols per serving and heavy metals testing.
- Compare price per 100 mg of cocoa flavanols, not per jar. Also check servings per container: 25 and 30 servings at the same price are very different deals.
The full scorecard is in Which Cocoa Powder Has the Most Flavanols?
Combined-label powders vs. Goorello
| What to check | Typical "1,200 mg combined" powder | Goorello High Flavanols Cocoa Powder |
|---|---|---|
| Headline number | Flavanols + flavonoids added together | 600 mg cocoa flavanols |
| Cocoa flavanol amount | Often unclear from the headline | 600 mg, stated on its own |
| Processing | Often not stated | Non-alkalized |
| Testing | Varies | Third-party tested |
| Servings per jar | Often 25 | 30 |
| Price | Varies | $39.99 one-time (~$1.33/serving); $33.99/month on subscription (~$1.13/serving) |
| Guarantee | Often 30 days | 60-day money-back |
| Other | — | Non-GMO, vegan, 0 g added sugar, no added caffeine; capsule option |
Goorello pricing as of September 28, 2026. Check any product's own label for its exact details.
Why we lead with 600 mg
Goorello's formula also contains other flavonoids. We could add them together and put a bigger number on the jar. We don't, because the number that lets you compare products fairly, and that lines up with cocoa flavanol research, is the cocoa flavanol amount on its own.
Try Goorello
Goorello High Flavanols Cocoa Powder: 600 mg cocoa flavanols per scoop, non-alkalized, non-GMO, vegan, third-party tested. Buy once, subscribe and save (pause, skip or cancel anytime), or take the Buy 2, Get 1 Free bundle, all with a 60-day money-back guarantee. Prefer capsules? Goorello Capsules. Also available on Amazon with Subscribe & Save.
FAQ
Is 1,200 mg of cocoa flavanols better than 600 mg?
Check first whether it really is 1,200 mg of cocoa flavanols or a combined total. Research has mostly used about 200–500 mg of cocoa flavanols per day. See How Much Cocoa Flavanols Per Day?
Are flavonoids bad?
No. Flavonoids are normal plant compounds. They just aren't the same as cocoa flavanols, so they shouldn't be counted as if they were.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

